So the research adventure begins! This Sunday I will be headed towards Florida to begin my PhD research examining the stress response of Ornate Chorus Frogs located throughout Florida and southern Georgia. The first leg of my trip will end up in Carencro, Louisiana to stay with Dr. Bob Jaeger, a well-admired Plethodontid salamander ecologist and my advisor’s previous advisor. From there I will head to Eglin AFB in Florida for a few days of sampling on the base, then to Apalachicola National Forest for a few days there. Weather permitting, I will be in Gainesville, Florida by next weekend to set up a “base-camp” and get approved as a USGS volunteer to continue my research. From there I will sample at 3 other locations within Florida (Jennings State Forest, Lafayette WEA, and St. Marks NWR) and 1 location in southern Georgia (Jones Center).

My car is loaded down with supplies (and somehow I still need to fit in my suitcase), and I am just about ready to hit the road! I am looking forward to the new experience and research, though it is always a little nerve-racking heading to the field, because you know it never works out the way you plan. 🙂

Hopefully there are more posts and pictures to come!

Journey Leg 1

 

